Home > Humor, Pet Peeves > Try staying classy…

Try staying classy…

So, over the past few weeks I’ve watched the Maury Show, Steve Wilkos Show, and Judge Mathis to pay attention to the words said by the guests on these shows.

It’s presumed that the guests on these shows are members of the lower classes in society. I wanted to see if I could see distinct differences between words which they use compared to words which I hear everyday around me.

After a few weeks of observation, one word I heard on the shows but not in my everyday surroundings was “female.” Instead of using “woman,” “women,” “lady,” “ladies,” guests on the shows frequently use  the word “female” or “females.”

Just listening to the word “female” irked me, it sounded dirty for some reason to me, almost to the level of what I’d consider a pet peeve. So, after watching one of these shows I asked my mother how she felt about the usage of the word “female” and she said that she sees it as being derogatory and  rude.

After this I concluded that there are words which show the lack of class and knowledge of people and a prime example is “female.” I have never heard many if any educated adults use “females” over the word “woman” or “lady.”

If you want to sound educated and classy, avoid using the word “female.” It doesn’t put you in a good light, if you care.

  1. Mr Jones
    May 12, 2011 at 11:52 PM

    Good point although I’d add double negatives. So annoying!

    • May 12, 2011 at 11:59 PM

      Good point, my favorite is “I don’t know nothing.” So sad, I wonder how those people who constantly use double negatives are at math.

  2. May 28, 2011 at 7:13 PM

    Right on!

  3. K Ford
    May 29, 2011 at 5:59 PM

    The slang, “classy” is itself a vulgar colloquial expression and decidedly lower class.

    A personage of quality of upbringing would simply never have heard it used and been reprimanded if repeated it in speech.

    There is absolutely nothing vulgar about the word female. The word female is routinely used by both the polite and and the educated, but not in the manner you’ve related.

    The only polite word choice, if the surname is unknown would be woman, female is too removed and lacks the necessary respect for discussing a personage who is or was in one’s presence.

    Of course, the only correct polite form of address would be to refer to another person as Ms./Mrs._______. A pronoun, highly rude, would never be used, i.e. she, her, etc.

    That said, the reason these people are using the word “female” is that they are attempting to mimic legal jargon as they have heard it spoken, not that of attorneys, but what they are most familiar, police officers. They also use the word “vehicle” in this manner. Both are affected behaviour as they are not members of law enforcement.

    The key is to read better books and avoid vulgar television programing.

    If you learn only thing, never use the word, “classy”, unless you wish to sound lower class.

    • May 30, 2011 at 2:54 AM

      Although I disagree with pretty much everything you said I would like to take you for your comment. “I disapprove of what you say, but I’ll defend to the death your right to say it”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

