Home > Pet Peeves > English Language Check…

English Language Check…

So, I was on the phone with my girlfriend earlier talking about how it was some couple’s 14, 16th month “anniversary.” She didn’t remember how long it was.

During this conversation, I had an “ah ha” moment. It came to me that this is yet another thing which “Grinds my Gears.” This peeve is the usage of the word anniversary.

Anniversary (Noun): the yearly recurrence of the date of a past event: (i.e.) the tenth anniversary of their marriage.

Anniversary (Adjective): returning or recurring each year; annual.

Definitions via dictionary.com

Using these definitions, I don’t understand when or why month is now used on many occasions when talking about anniversary. Anniversary means year, specifically ‘anni’ is an English prefix meaning year.

Month and year aren’t the same thing. Get it straight. There is no such thing as a 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,9,10, 13,17, 22 month anniversary! As the definition states for anniversary, it’s a yearly recurrence not a monthly one!

  1. April 12, 2011 at 7:35 PM

    It’s great to see that some people still care about correct language useage… one of my pet peeves (language wise) is the old misplaced apostrophe … it drives me nuts!

    And thanks for checking out my pet peeves (pet hates) cartoons too!

    Cheers, Sheila
    (www.cartoonsbysheila.wordpress.com)

  2. April 14, 2011 at 3:31 AM

    If the Oxford English dictionary now includes the “words” LOL and OMG, I think misuse of the word “anniversary” is the least of our problems.

    • April 14, 2011 at 6:43 AM

      I agree with your point there. The misuse of the word “anniversary” is not a major problem, but it was something that irked me at the time so I wrote about it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

