Home > Pet Peeves > You’d Think College Students Would Know Better

You’d Think College Students Would Know Better

Welcome to another addition of  “What Grinds my Gears.” The idea to write about this particular pet peeve came to me when my phone auto-corrected one of my text messages for the one-millionth  time. I get a text message back saying that I used the wrong “there.”

After that text response I thought about my college experiences and the many occasions where I was editing a classmates writing or reading someone Facebook status where people don’t use specific words correctly. This thought made me increasingly irritated.

By the time someone enters college I hope that they know the difference between “you’re” and “your,” “there” “their” and “they’re,”” we’re” and “were,” it’s” and “its, and my all time favorite “mine,”and “mines”

Unfortunately on many occasions college students I’ve come across don’t know the difference between the words and this is quite clear.

For this post I thought of the idea of explaining the words and when to use them, but screw that, if college students don’t know how to use them already they’re hopeless (wonder if I used the right one there.)

This peeve brings forth two issues:

1. Even though there are more college students than ever before, many students don’t learn the essentials of language before entering college.

2. People use words even though they don’t know what they mean.  Simply, if you don’t know what something means, don’t say it!

Hopefully this epidemic will be rectified soon for my sake and the sake of the other educated people in the world!

Categories: Pet Peeves Tags: , , ,
  1. April 5, 2011 at 9:58 PM

    So far, I agree with all your “What Grinds My Gears.” They’re all totally right! Rudeness, bad breath, Ugg books (you’re right, those are ugly-ass things!), and bad grammar, etc. Those are some of the ones I forgot to put. I just post random lists of stuff I’m thinking of, not a series of things. That’s a pretty good idea. Don’t worry, I’m not going to copy it, though. I’m pretty comfortable with what I’m doing now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

